evebitestheapple

My ex-career as a muslimah

Losing my religion February 27, 2011

Filed under: Random — evebitestheapple @ 8:38 am

Hi, my name is ******.

In February of 1997, I sat in a classroom of an old school building in a metro-city in the south.  This old school building served as a makeshift masjid for local Muslims. On that bright Sunday afternoon, with a neck full of hickies, I excitedly listened to lessons about Islam with several other young women. At the end of the class I was certain there was only one God worthy of worship. I was not so sure Muhammad was His messenger but I ardently wanted to believe.  So in February of 1997 I utttered the words ‘La illaha ilallah, Muhammadan Ar-Rasooloolah’ and embraced Deen-ul-Islam.

In February 2011, fourteen years later, I denounced Islam. With shaky knees, I jumped off the cliff and plunged into the abyss of the unknown by loudly proclaiming(in my bedroom of course) that I no longer believe Muhammad is the messenger of Allah.

Theses writings are my chronicles through my career as a Muslim and my journey forward as I soar out of the abyss and fly high back into the exciting world of possibility.

 

5 Responses to “Losing my religion”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    Welcome to the blogosphere and I very much look forward to hearing more about your journey.

    • Thank you for the welcome. I tried to add your blog to my blogroll but I haven’t quite figured that out how to do that yet. Your entries encouraged me to put my own thoughts out in the ‘www’ world.

  2. Sig Says:

    Congratulations. Really. Will look forward to reading your contributions.

  3. almostclever Says:

    Welcome to the wordpress world, I think you will love it. There are plenty of compassionate, wonderful bloggers out here. I look forward to hearing more from you!

  4. Nobody Says:

    Just learned about your blog today and have been reading it off and on throughout the day in my very best creepy stalker modus operandi. I am really looking forward to reading more. I am also an ex-Muslimah (August 2008) and can really relate to everything you’ve written.


Leave a Reply

